All interested and identifying with the struggle against the increasing commercialisation of education and for free emancipatory education anywhere on this planet are invited to participate in this chat meeting to update each other on local developments in connection with the GLOBAL EDUCATION STRIKE [Oct. 18 + Nov. 14-21] and continue coordinations together!

Among others the focus will be on the ideas of pre-GES activities as well as the proposal to extend the GES by at least one day.

Pad used for the chat meeting: https://pad.riseup.net/p/chat.sept9 (feel free to contribute)

During previous chat meetings participants from around the world already agreed on a common timeframe for the strike and some basics regarding the framework. Furthermore it was agreed to use the international joint statement – besides the call to action – as the basis for the Global Education Strike.

::: How to join the Chat :::

September 9th (sunday) — noon EST, 4pm UTC, 6pm CET, 9.30pm IST
(to check what time 4pm UTC is for you: www.timeanddate.com)

Chatroom: chat.uproot.it
also accessible via: irc.redtriangletc.org #uproot
=> NO webcam or microphone needed – just enter your nick!

——-
The chat will be at these times for the specific regions:

Argentina: 1pm
Australia (Canberra): 2am (September 10th)
Bangladesh: 10pm
Brazil (Rio De Janeiro): 1pm
Bulgaria (EET): 7pm
Cameroon (DTZ): 5pm
Canada (Quebec): noon
Central Europe (e.g. Italy, Austria, France, Germany, Croatia…; CET): 6pm
Chile: 1pm
Colombia: 11am
Costa Rica: 10am
EST (U.S.A., Canada, Eastern Standard Time): noon
Egypt: 6pm
Ghana: 4pm
Greece: 7pm
Guatemala: 10am
Haiti: noon
India: 9:30pm
Indonesia (Java): 11pm
Israel: 5pm
Jamaica: 11am
Japan and South Korea: 1am
Lebanon: 7pm
Liberia: 4pm
Malaysia: 11:59pm
Mauritius: 8pm
Mexico (Mexico City): 11am
Morocco: 4pm
Nepal: 9:45pm
New Zealand: 4am (September 10th)
Nigeria: 5pm
Pakistan: 9pm
Palestinian Territories: 6pm
Philippines: 11:59pm
Portugal: 5pm
Puerto Rico: noon
Romania: 7pm
Russia (Moscow): 8pm
Senegal and Sierra Leone: 4pm
South Africa: 6pm
Sri Lanka: 9:30pm
Taiwan: 11:59pm
Thailand: 11pm
Togo: 4pm
Turkey: 6pm
Uganda: 7pm
Ukraine: 7pm
UK: 5pm
Uruguay: 1pm
Vietnam: 11pm
Zimbabwe: 6pm

Submitted by: International Student Movement

Tagged with →  
Share →

5 Responses to ISM: Global Education Strike Chat Meeting on September 9th – Discussing and Coordinating the Strike

Leave a Reply